Diocese of Portsmouth

Bishop Phillip Egan VG BA STL was born in Altrincham, Cheshire. Educated at St Vincent's Primary School and St Ambrose College and a graduate of the University of London (Kings College),he undertook his formation for the priesthood at Allen Hall, London and the Venerable English College, Rome and was awarded his Licentiate in Sacred Theology (STL) from the Pontifical Gregorian University. Subsequently he gained a doctorate in theology (PhD) from the University of Birmingham.

He was ordained to the sacred priesthood in August 1984 and served as Assistant priest at St Anthony's Woodhouse Park (1985-88) before becoming Assistant Chaplain at Fisher House to the University of Cambridge (1989-91)

He was appointed chaplain to Arrow Park hospital, Wirral (1991- 94) before doing further studies at Boston College Ma. For twelve years he was on the formation staff at St Mary's College, Oscott, the major seminary in the archdiocese of Birmingham, where he was the college Dean of Studies and Professor of Fundamental Theology. He returned to Boston College as a post-doctoral research fellow of the Lonergan Institute in 2007, before being appointed Parish Priest of Our Lady and St Christopher's Romiley, near Stockport in 2008.

In 2010 he was appointed Vicar General of the diocese of Shrewsbury and in 2011 a Prelate of Honour to His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI and in 2012 a Canon of Shrewsbury Cathedral. He was appointed Bishop of Portsmouth Diocese in 2012.

Diocesan Officers

Diocesan President – Isobel Flynn

Diocesan Secretary – Lorne Fry

Diocesan Treasurer – Susan Meese

Chaplain Fr Jozef Gruszkiewicz

Foundations in The Diocese of Portsmouth

Most Foundations have a Summer break with no meeting in August.


Variable days; Monthly at the Local Convent or Members homes; Afternoon tea time!


Thursday; Fortnightly at St Francis Church Ascot at 7.30pm


Monday; Fortnightly at Sacred Heart Church Hall Fareham at 7.30pm


Tuesday; Fortnightly at St Joseph Church Hall at 7.45pm


Wednesday: Fortnightly at Parish Centre at 2.00pm


Tuesday; Fortnightly at St Marks Church Hall at 7.30pm (Occasionally 10.30am)


Thursday; Fortnightly in Term time at Keenan Room, Corpus Christie Church at 7.30pm


Tuesday 1st & 3rd;Fortnightly at St Swithun's Parish Centre, Yateley at 7.30pm


Contact Diocesan Secretary